According to Google, this change is created to prevent the accidental deletion of items across products. The automatic syncing that happens between the two may be convenient for many but it's also caused some confusion among users who, for instance, might have deleted some photos from their Photos app only to discover later that they're gone from their Drive as well. While there's still a Photos folder in Drive, the new ones that you upload to Photoswill not be added there.
If you use both Google Photos and Google Drive, you likely know that the two services are linked together. Any photos or videos from Drive in Photos that you have uploaded will remain in Photos. The update will take place starting July 10.
The first mention of this possibility came from Forbes a month ago, and according to Android Police, the changes are coming in an effort clear up user confusion and provide a "simplified" experience going forward. Google still offers a full photo download via Google Takeout, but that is a giant brick of all your photos, not a syncing service.
Likewise, Google is introducing an option called "Upload from Drive" that will be available in Google Photos to let you manually choose which photos and videos from Drive you want to import into Google Photos. Photos uploaded in "High Quality" will stay free and won't count against your monthly storage quota. Thanks to the Drive and Photos integration, deleting the Drive "Photos" folder would also wipe out your entire photo collection in Google Photos.
Google Drive is a storage service that lets you save various files to the cloud and then access them from your smartphone, tablet, or computer.
The Google Photos folder within Drive will no longer automatically sync with Google Photos. It will also disallow you to put all the photos and videos stored in your Photos app to your PC by simply syncing your Drive folder.