Almost a year later, work on the feature appears to be complete, as Facebook revealed in a blog post on Tuesday that all users now have the option to remove messages that they've sent on Messenger, whether it was to a single person or a group of people.
"Remove for You" will only delete the message from your side, so people wanting to permanently erase conversations from everyone in the chat will need to select the latter. When that option is chosen, the message will be removed for you, but not for anybody else in the chat. The deleted text will be replaced by an alert indicating that the message was removed.
Now playing: Watch this: Facebook redesigns Messenger with AR camera effects and. So, if The Zuck sent you a message, you might find it gone days or weeks later. Still, if you say something and immediately regret it, you'll be able to unsend it starting today. You're not the only one!
Apparently, Zuckerberg got the preferential Messenger treatment from his own company after the 2014 Sony Pictures email hacks, when a hacker group known as "Guardians Of Peace" leaked a giant stash of stolen, confidential movie industry info. Facebook has been in the spotlight for data-sharing and privacy policies going back to its earliest days, which appeared to show a pattern of carelessness with users' personal information.
Here's how to delete messages on Facebook Messenger.
Mark Zuckerberg wasn't restricted to a ten-minute window, but when we asked Facebook if all executives will be held to the same restrictions as users we were told that the change will apply to everyone including Facebook employees. The latter option only removes the message in your view of the conversation, whereas Remove for everyone will remove the message from the conversation for all recipients.